New York City Center

login | e-ticket center | shopping cart | email club | donate | contact us

On Stage Visitor Info Education Support About Us Blog Full Calendar
Home > Education > Intro to Performing Arts

Introduction to Performing Arts

This point-of-entry program broadens opportunities for students to experience the performing arts, often as first-time audience members. City Center arranges for school groups and families to attend live shows on our mainstage and beyond. Students are introduced to new art forms and respond to and analyze the productions they see, using new vocabulary and materials provided by City Center. Teachers are provided with a study guide to contextualize the themes of the show and make curricular connections for their classes. Students also learn about audience behavior and develop an appreciation for the performing arts. The Introduction serves as a primer for our more in-depth programming.


1 professional performance, 1 study guide per teacher and 1 professional development workshop, when applicable


$2 per ticket
$50 per school (Dance and Operetta programs only)

This Season

Musical Theater:

Cabin in the Sky, Saturday, February 13, 2pm
Cabin in the Sky, Sunday, February 14, 2pm
1776, Wednesday, March 30, 7:30pm
1776, Thursday, March 31, 7:30pm
1776, Friday, April 1, 8pm
1776, Saturday, April 2, 2pm SOLD OUT
1776, Saturday, April 2, 8pm
1776, Sunday, April 3, 2pm SOLD OUT
1776, Sunday, April 3, 7pm
Do I Hear a Waltz? Saturday, May 14, 2pm
Do I Hear a Waltz? Sunday, May 15, 2pm

Professional Development: Friday, November 6, 2015, 9am-3pm

Whelan & Watson
School-Time Matinee: Friday, March 4, 2016, 11am-12pm
Professional Development: January 29, 2016

Flamenco Festival
School-Time Matinee: Wednesday, March 16, 2016, 11am-12pm
Professional Development: February, 2016

Register Now

Any questions about our Dance programs can be sent to Questions about our Musical Theater programs can be sent to